Remembering: The Gem
The Gem was in its day one of the most popular of the story papers that chronicled the goings-on among boys at school. It brought us Tom Merry, who is probably one of the few characters from that era that stayed in the public consciousness long after the paper closed.
The Gem was launched in
1907 by the Amalgamated Press and although it is fair to say that for many
years it lived in the shadow of its more accomplished cousin The Magnet
which brought us the great Fat Owl of The Remove, Billy Bunter.
The heydays of the English School stories ran from
about 1900 to the late 1930s. Papers such as The Hotspur and The
Rover also carried these stories. Looking back today we can see there was
very little difference between the papers. The boys were at public school –
that is elite private fee paying boarding schools. They moved in groups of four
or five chums and each pal had a slightly different personality from his
fellows. The idea was for the reader to be able to relate personally to one or
other of them.
The
Gem featured
stories of St James College in Sussex – commonly known as St
Jim’s to the boys, concentrating on the adventures of the Fourth and Shell
forms. There were two houses, the School House and the New House. The main
characters were the ‘Terrible Three’ – Merry, Manners and Lowther from the
Shell; Blake, D’Arcy, Herries and Digby from the School House Fourth; Figgins,
Kerr and ‘Fatty’ Wynn from the New House Fourth.
In The Gem the fictional heroes of St Jim’s
inhabited a world of cane- or birch-wielding schoolmasters, (although none was
quite so manic as Mr Quelch from The Magnet (click
here for more) and bullying prefects.
The
Gem, Issue No. 539, 8 June 1918
The Gem, Issue
No. 1226, 15 August 1931
The Magnet and
The Gem were published by the same company and Frank
Richards who penned the Billy
Bunter stories for The
Magnet was the same Martin Clifford who wrote about Tom Merry.
The Gem was killed off in
1939 after the start of the Second World, but Tom Merry lived on for many years.
Tom Merry’s Own, an annual, appeared from 1949 to 1954. In the 1970s Howard
Baker published a series of books reproducing original
copies of The Gem.
Copies of The Gem can be read online or downloaded
at the Friardale
website, here.
Here’s an example of Martin Clifford in action. Click
on the date to download the full story paper.
Comments
Post a Comment